How to block unwanted websites in your Google search
Google recently rewrote their search algorithm to make "low-quality sites" disappear from users front page results, putting the emphasis on better, more relevant answers with original content and in-depth information. And now Google has added a new feature to their search system that gives the users some of the control of what they see in theirs results.
People probably search using Google everyday, and most of them happened across some porno sites from time to time, or something offensive in their search results. Now users can do something about it. There's no official name for Google's new feature, but it lets internet users block unwanted websites from ever appearing in their search results.
But to all of those websites recently hit by Google's search algorithm change, this could mean even more bad news. What if thousands of people blacklisted someone’s website? Should the owners be worried?
Well, not yet, anyway.
Google said, "we’re not currently using the domains people block as a signal in ranking, [but] we’ll look at the data and see whether it would be useful as we continue to evaluate and improve our search results in the future."
To see how to start improving Google search results, here's how to do it.
Step 1 Log In to Google
In order to take advantage of this new block feature, you need to be logged into your Google Account. Once you're logged in, just go to Google and start searching as you normally would.
Step 2 Perform a Search
Go ahead, search for something—anything. But what if you actually never wanted to see what you searched again? This new feature is only available in English right now, for those using Chrome 9+, IE8+ and Firefox 3.5+. Google will be implementing this across the board soon enough, though.
Step 3 Visit the Website in Question
At first glance, you can't see any new block feature. That's because Google wants you to check out the website first, before you get all block-happy.
Step 4 Return to Your Google Search Results
When you click on a site, then find that you hate it and never want to see it again—ever—then all you need to do is press the back button on your web browser to return to the Google search results.
Check out the options next to the link in question. Beside Cache and Similar there is an option to Block all example.com results, in this case. And when you hover over it, you'll be presented with a quick statement for what this means.
Step 5 Block the Website
Now, if you're sure you want that website to disappear from your current and future search results, just click on the Block all example.com results option. Once you do, you'll be presented with a confirmation message box from Google, which also gives you the option to immediately undo the block.
Tip
You'll see the Block all example.com results option whether you're logged into Google or not. But in order for you to successfully block it, you need to sign in and confirm the block. If you're not logged in, it will direct you to the log-in page and you can proceed from there.
Once you've blocked the website, you will no longer see anything from its domain in any of your search results, but you need to be logged in. If not logged in, you will still see them in the results.









